The church of San Salvador in Manín
The church of San Salvador de Manín, popularly known as the church of Aceredo, has a rich history full of vicissitudes and anecdotes.
Moved from place to place, stone by stone, on two occasions (1769 and 1992), the temple was originally built in Manín. Later, it was moved in the 18th century to the land now flooded by the Lindoso reservoir.
Its architectural value once again saved the church, which was again moved to avoid flooding in the vicinity of the places of Ludeiros and Compostela, in Lobios, where it stands today majestically.
Today, the parish church is one of the best examples of Baroque architecture in the region. Its construction, as testified by an inscription on the right arm of the transept, was done when Damian Velez de la Llana was abbot, in 1764. The plane of the church is a Latin cross with a single nave in three sections and a transept; the transept emerges in height to the outside, covering the lantern with a groin vault. The tower is integrated into the façade at the foot of the church, replacing the open base with a pointed triumphal arch supported by columns. The corners of the lower body of the tower are highlighted by pseudo-doric pilasters, with the balustrade marking the beginning of the body of bells, with open arches on each front. A lantern on a drum appears as a finishing touch.
Of great interest is the main altarpiece, with a predominance of sculpture in relief on the round bundle. On both sides of the altar, the doors of the sacristy, located behind the altarpiece, are open. The reliefs of Adam and Eve are sculpted in them among Atlantean children who pretend to hold the weight of the wooden structure over them. The tabernacle is resolved in a monumental way.